Caramel Peanut Topped Brownie Cake and Debate

Combine excessive heavy thick dessert-as-dinner with gloom doom sober presidential town hall debate and you will concoct a devil of a poison resulting in indigestion and mental constipation. I baked this recipe chosen by Wee Treats by Tammy for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie (join before closing membership availability 10/31) and prior to baking was anticipating the oozing caramel complimented by crunchy salty peanuts. My belly is a gaping vacuum never to be filled, and combined with thoughts of this chocolate cake topped with this goop really had my heart aching for it.

Well, I was disappointed. Or, maybe bake:cake:debate is a bad combination, can’t mix pleasure with repulsion. Pain you can mix because we’re all masochists in one level or another but repulsion isn’t as natural an instinct. Evan and I were grudgingly, resolutely, regretfully watching the debate as the somber tension resonated amidst brutal agressiveness from McCain and what we saw as a wimpering weakness from Obama. I was really surprised to hear the discussion after the debate because I could’ve sworn McCain was winning this debate by a long shot, and I think I was successfully weened and brainwashed, as brief as it may have been. We just thought, or at least let me speak for myself, I thought McCain was superbly articulate and I’m used to witnessing him trip over his words and as much as he delivered with stiffness and rigidity, McCain was really on top of his shit in terms of immediate response from Obama and the audience. He was so convincing. Especially when he pulled the much contested:

“There was an energy bill on the floor of the Senate – loaded down with goodies, billions for the oil companies,” Mr. McCain says. “And it was sponsored by Bush and Cheney. You know who voted for it – you might never know? That one. You know who voted against it? Me.”

My mouth kind of gaped open in disbelief. Was it possible that he could be so harsh? so scandalous? I thought it was a successful one two uppercut punchline that K.O.’d Obama…BOY WAS I WRONG…Thinking back now and reading all those who responded from bloggers to journalists, tv commentators, pundits, etc I realize McCain was quite careless with this bullying and only further outcasted him. He is slowly deflating into a pathetic whithered wrinkle (do you notice my inkling for alliteration?. I’ve never followed any previous presidential campaign so don’t know what the usual protocal may be, but I’ve learned that politicians are not any less petty than anyone else. That they are more human in their weaknesses and insecurities, in their selfish power mongering and need for center attention. At a moment whe the economy is shaking the most mentally secure person to anxiety and panic, is it really appropriate to nitpick, fuss and point fingers? This debate was more specific than their first and definitely more pronounced than the vice pres, but it still didn’t convince me that EITHER of them are really ready to preside over the country and its economy financial international ailments. But then again I am inexperienced in talking about or understanding politics so who cares what I think. Let’s get on with the cake!

I followed the recipe in the book pretty verbatim except some ingredient changes. I used sugar cane syrup instead of corn syrup because that’s really bad for you. I didn’t have plain white sugar so I used sugar in the raw. I grated my cheese because I like grater. It baked for 40 minutes and I used all the caramel sauce, just pouring it over the cake in excess.

The chocolate cake was overpowered by the caramel, I barely tasted the chocolate, I’m convinced .5 oz just isn’t enough, or maybe it has something to do with the grating? I doubt it.

The caramel was a bit too dark, and it would have been perfect if it weren’t for that 5 second turn of the head toward the tv move I pulled. Because literally, one second it was light amber, by the time I turned my head back it was dark. It tasted a bit burnt in the end and it was too strong and excessive. I’m not so convinced about the peanut either. I don’t think it’s a complimentary element. I dont remember which blog but someone replaced it with popcorn, that probably would’ve been better, still salty without being overbearingly crunchy.

I really do think the negative reaction to the cake was spurred on by my initial disappointment with Barak. I had 2 pieces today having left it out overnight and I must say it tasted much better. It wasn’t as rich and overbearing, as if the cooling element hardening the caramel and eating after having microwaved it a few seconds just isn’t as present as it was yesterday. I can’t it was as much of a success as the coconut brownies or plum cake or creme brulee were but I learned out to caramelize and having it be a learning experience is what counts.

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Politics

5 responses to “Caramel Peanut Topped Brownie Cake and Debate

  1. Well said Great information, keep up the great work!

  2. I didn’t like the cake that much either… It was too dry and did not taste like chocolate a lot.

  3. I wanted more chocolate in the cake, too. And it did seem to get better the second day. Better luck next week!

  4. i was watching the debates too when i was making my cake. i burned my sugar once and then missed a crucial ingredient. i’m with you, bake:cake:debate is not a good mix.

  5. deb choi

    bake/cake/debate definitely not a good mix because obama rocked mccain on that one. send me over some of your creations some day, i’m an excellent eater.

Leave a Reply

