TWD swap: Russian Grandmother’s Apple Pie-Cake.

This week’s TWD recipe was Lenox Almond Biscotti chosen by Canela & Comino. I’ve been DYING to make apple pie and biscotti was never a fave, so I swapped and made Russian Grandmother’s Apple Pie Cake which the group made back in March. My book arrived last week and my eyes were drooling flipping through page by page at the many wondrous savoring recipes. I flipped to page 310, took out the dough ingredients and started mixing to my heart’s content. I realize I desperately need a mixer, even a cheap hand mixer will do. My whisk broke in half and my palms were bruising trying to mix the dough and as much the labor is very well paid off, it’s still a pain in the ass. Not to mention the dough was sticky and uncooperative much to not only my own but others dismay as well. I had to take thin slices and patch the top layer together on the sides and just lay the dough on top of the apples and peel off the wax paper. In the end, it came out tasting beautifully even if it wasn’t so aesthetically pleasuresome.

Some alterations:

The receipe requires 3 1/4- 3 1/2 cups of flour but I ran out of flour so mixed in a cup of pancake mix, I think this made it more fudgy than not.

I added 2 teaspons of cinnamon rather than 1 1/4, because I love cinnamon.

Other than that I followed the recipe verbatim and it came orgasmically good. I will try to save some for tonight’s debate and share the wealth, try. So far it’s been very well received not only by my own gluttonous belly but others as well. One friend even proclaimed it was the best apple pie he’s ever tasted, don’t know if we need to reach extremes here, but I am very VERY satisfied with this pie-cake and will be making it again FOR SURE.

Recipe can be found at Burned Bits

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “TWD swap: Russian Grandmother’s Apple Pie-Cake.

  1. I’m so glad you liked it! I should go back and do re-takes on some of those early recipes. My skills have grown by doing the TWD thing, and I think I’d do better with some of them now.

    Mmmm…. apple pie-cake. šŸ˜€

  2. pinkstripes

    I’ve been wanting to make this recipe. Maybe I’ll make it this week. A mixer is heaven!

Leave a Reply

