TWD: Pumpkin Muffins

This week’s recipe at Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Sounding My Barbaric Gulp! and although I was not so excited about the choice seeing as how I’m on a cake/brownie/tart/cookie fix I was glad I went ahead and made these pumpkin muffins and I am very glad/devastated to learn muffins require as much sugar if not more than my preferred sweets.

I halved the stated recipe found in the book and came up with 6 muffins. I had the hardest time finding a muffin pan near my house and ended up with cheap disposable muffin shaped foils. This resulted in more disc-shaped golden muffins rather than your usual round and pudgy and it worked just fine and made it easier to peel off chunks or even just bite directly into it without it shattering. I fine grated fresh ginger because I didn’t have any ground and didn’t use baking soda. The allspice was super present and pungent otherwise a subtle soft savory taste lingers. I love the consistency of light brown sugar and don’t love so much the stench of buttermilk, not to mention I only used a tiny 1/8 of a cup so have this big jug leftover. I forgot to add the sunflower seeds on top even though I had it on the counter amongst the other ingredients, how careless of me. I think it would’ve thrown off the softness of it anyway so I’m happy I unconsciously left it out.

Now I still have a pretty full can of pumpkin puree and i don’t really know what to do with it. I don’t like the liquid jello-ness of pumpkin pie so will have to think of something. Maybe just more pumpkin muffins.

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “TWD: Pumpkin Muffins

  1. ooh….I’ll bet fresh ginger was a great addition!

  2. More pumpkin muffins sounds like a good idea to me! Fresh ginger, yum.

Leave a Reply

