TWD: Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes

This weeks TWD menu is Chocoloate Chocolate Cupcakes chosen by Iheartfood4thought. I wasn’t too excited going into it, and I’m not too excited with what came out, but here is the report.

I am not a big fan neither cupcakes nor thick glazes, its too foamy and the creamy thickness of glaze makes me a bit nauseated, the way cheesecake will make you feel after one too many bites. Nonetheless I wanted to make them for the hell of it and I followed the recipe pretty verbatim except I don’t have baking soda so I just added another 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder. I don’t know the difference between the two so I disregard ones significance for the other, if you can tell me the function of baking soda in juxtaposition to powder, please do enlighten me.

Since I find cupcake and general cake glaze nearly abominable, I skipped that part of the recipe and after 10 minutes in the oven took out the cupcakes and sprinkled coconut shreds, which were such a treat in my coconut brownies. Big difference, as aromatic as the replacement topping was, it was silly to just assume it would somehow melt and smooth onto the cupcake. Instead it just sort of stayed there unmoved, like a pile of dried leaves, crunchy and dry and tasteless. I did dump the burnt shreds and was left with a thin layer of coconut sprinkles.

The cake itself I must say was pretty good, it was slightly crunchy on the outer layer and almost brownie-like in the middle, it wasn’t foamy which I feared and wasn’t too thick or chocolately. It was definitely a mild unassuming taste. I approve. But from all the TWD recipes I’ve baked so far, I am very sorry to say I wasn’t as ecstatic with this choice. I do look forward to next week’s recipe: rugelach!!

Murray’s Bagels in Chelsea always sold these rugelach in chocolate, apricot and berries and the guy who took the order on the phone would get all flirtatious and send me these as a free treat and a few times even added a cigarette upon using him as a confession stand pouring out my stress filled hair pulling day. It was a nice combo back then. Anyway if your’e around that area definitely check it out and treat yourself to a treat.

And yes, all my pictures suck big time. Between my trusty iphone and a untrusty t megapixel canon digital camera I am yet to take inspiring food pictures, there is only so much complaining I can do before I invest in a good one, but honestly, we’re livining through an economic crisis and such luxuries will have to be put on hold for awhile. So till then, dear reader, please be patient and sympathetic to my pathetic attempts at food photography, its a mere low grade reference for record keeping my experiences.

4 Comments

Filed under Food

4 responses to “TWD: Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Mine came out dry because I forgot to add the butter milk. Sorry you weren’t thrilled with these cupcakes but they look delicious!

  2. Yours look great.

    Sorry you didn’t like them.

  3. CB

    Bummer you weren’t a fan but the coconut on top looks tasty! Thanks for baking with me this week!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  4. Those look tasty to me!

    Baking powder has much less “raising power” per teaspoon than baking soda. 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda would need somewhere around 1 teaspoon of baking powder to replace it. So, no wonder your cupcakes came out more dense and brownie-like. I guess it’s a good thing!

Leave a Reply

