Cafe Grumpy and Irving Feller

A few blocks away from my house sits Cafe Grumpy, an energetic, spacious welcoming coffeehouse on Meserole and Diamond in Greenpoint. They have another store in Chelsea which I haven’t visited yet but I just have to share my love for this place. Rows of round tables line the walls and its livelier, noisier here with speakers pumping The Blow, banging of expensive espresso machines and loud laughy chatter from the awesome barista to her regulars. The walls are painted orange, like my room, which is the sexiest most warming shade that casts a beautiful nostalgic glow when the sun hits. In the back is a huge open space again with tables lining the walls and art hangs from the sides and above. Its the antithesis of stuffy but is still cozy and heartwarming. I love sitting in the front, the quiet back room gets me sleepy, and typing away on my laptop amidst the clang bang splitter splatter.

Last week I noticed a new installation of paintings that are huge, minimal, abstract and in conversation with works of Sol Lewitt, Joan Miro and Matisse.

These are the works of Irving Feller, an furrier/artist based in the neighborhood. He is the proud owner of the family run Manhattan Avenue Furrier and he pours in his passions to fur collaborating with Native Americans across America providing trade of goods.

Before he is a furrier he is an artist having been hired during WWII as an artist creating posters describing treatments for syphilis and gonorrhea. He attended art school in Paris and Art Students League in NY and his vocabulary ranges from abstract to figurative in various modes of color and style. I love them, and to think I can experience in the cafe that I love, I’m in heaven.

I’m daydreaming about visiting Mr. Feller’s shop and taking his art and nutty character to expose to the world, not to mention propose to curate shows in this cafe. I’ll have to dabble my fingers into their world.

Come to Cafe Grumpy and join me in the reverie.

NYTimes article about him

Cafe Grumpy site

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Food

Leave a Reply

