Quinoa Veggie Medley

This is officially my first invented recipe. I took as a point of inspiration a recipe from 101 cookbooks.

Veggie Pot Pie

On Sunday I baked Vegetable Pot Pie, a recipe posted for the group blog Barefoot Bloggers. It took 3 hours to prepare and required 3 sticks of butter. It was delicious but after a serving I felt super fat, heavy, gross, thick, disgusting. I was repulsed knowing I was consuming more butter and cream than I ever have. I’ve gone through more sticks of butter in the last month than I have in my entire life. So, it was time for a change. I’m going to take a break from the butter, and although I will continue baking my desserts for Tuesdays with Dorie I will only take a small serving and give the rest away. I ended up throwing out the reaminer of my pot pie. I coulnd’t take it anymore. Hence I announce my Quinoa Veggie Medley.

I hate my camera.

I hate my camera.

Ingredients:

Splash of olive oil

A small piece of minced ginger, peeled

1 garlic clove, peeled

1/2 cup quinoa (pre-cooked)

few capers

few jarred artichoke hearts

1/2 cup each (or a handful) of the following veggies sliced, chopped, diced:

funky spiky looking broccoli

kale

carrots

sweet potatoes

butternut squash

1 small red onion

1 small hot pepper

Seasoning in dashes:

Hoisin Sauce

Salt

Pepper

Coriander

Basel

Cumin

Thyme

Cayenne

In a large pot splash oil, insert garlic and ginger and cook for a minute in medium high heat.

Add all vegetables and cook for 15 minutes (my butternut squash was left a bit undone, so maybe cook longer or cook squash first separately), splash water every few times and cover and stir.

Add cooked quinoa (boil in water, simmer for 10 minutes) and stir

Add seasonings, almonds, artichoke hearts and capers and stir with love and yearning

Voila!

It was a medley of tastes and consistencies, I loved it and was delicious, healthy and light. No butter. No cream. Very low fat.

I loved the spice of ginger, the lemony zing of the artichoke hearts, the warm acidity of broccoli, the sweet bitterness of kale, the sweetness of the sweet potatoes, and the melt in your mouth goodness of butternut squash. I experienced variety of consistency, the popping of each quinoa grain being my favorite, its light and airy quality mixed in with its slight crunchiness is to die for.The almonds provided the hard and chewy aspect and mixed really well with the quinoa.

I’m in love and will be making this dish frequently now. I would like to make more soup. I’ve done it one time in my life and am really anticipating colder days to snuggle with soup. Till then enjoy this quiona veggie medley. I love it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

