Curried Tofu and Chard

Lately I’ve been gorging on sweets. Everyday this week I consumed at least 3 coconut macaroons from Choice cafe as a treat shortly after eating a meal that is way out of proportion to my bodyweight. Just yesterday I ate a bag of japanese milk flavored chewy candy and proceeded to top it off with a stick of japanese strawberry flavored rubber consistency chewies. I came home and witnessed a sugar crash and couldn’t get myself motivated for at least an hour, I was a vegetable on my chair half conscious and as limp as an aging vegetable. Eventually I conjured enough energy to cook a meal. I felt guilty for wanting to eat again but I figured if I’m going to be a compulsive eater, I might as well compulse on healthy goods. So I took a recipe I found online and twisted it a bit for my dinner.

img_3522

I haven’t made any sort of stir fry variety in quite some time and thought, well, it’s time. I needed to eat something hearty and wholesome, healthy and lovesome. I cooked some basmati rice and sprinkled some japanese packaged rice seasoning on top and sauteed stir fry with chunks of firm tofu, chopped swiss chard, tomatoes, sesame seeds, a bit of cayenne, and indian spices. The recipe:

Olive oil

1 small onion, 3 small garlic

About 3 bunches of swiss chard

A few plum tomatoes

Sprinkles of: turmeric, garam masala, and cumin

Frozen peas

Few sprigs of thyme

Sesame seeds

Salt and pepper

Basmati rice with rice seasoning

In a medium skillet, heat oil and add onions and garlic and saute till onions soften, add tofu and cook until it starts to brown, tossing regularly. Add chard, tomatoes, peas and all seasonings to taste. Serve with rice on side. Makes 3 servings.

Delicious and healthy is in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

