Pancetta and Pea Risotto

I had risotto for the first time a few months ago when I started cooking, and damn was it good. I’ve tried it a few more times since then picking and choosing a variety of recipes, and concluded risotto is a great all around mix and matchable comfort food. And because of its name, it sounds delectably fancy and sophisticated.

img_35611

The recipe is from the most recent issues of Gourmet and originally called for bacon. I got pancetta because I don’t like bacon. Or rather, I am in denial that I like bacon because in theory it is gross. My theory anyway.

It was a very simple dish and caught my eye especially becuase it was featured in the dinner for one or two section of the mag. This was enough for 1, a light but warm and comforting meal, a great compliment to my ritual oatmeal breakfast. I added a bit more pancetta than the recipe required and the salty chewy consistency in abundance matched well with the poppy softness of hte peas and the gooey cheesy melt in your mouth goodness of the risotto. The lemon juice is crucial in providing that perfect tangy touch to the dish. I will be making this again. and again.

Recipe here.

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Pancetta and Pea Risotto

  1. MikeyV

    Pancetta or bacon, either of these mixed in a deliciously creamy risotto along with peas (spaghetti a la carbonara comes to mind) sounds so deliciously yummy… yummy crispy, salty bacon (oops, i mean pancetta😛 ) and sweet soft peas…

    i’m definitely going to have to try this recipe…🙂

  2. Joann

    please do and let me know how it came out!

Leave a Reply

