Caramel Apple Crisp

A little over a week ago I asked Evan what his favorite dessert might be. He said anything with caramel, whip cream, and apple turnovers. I miraculously ran into a recipe in a recent issue of Bon Appetit and found a recipe for caramel apple crisp with whipped cream. Apples lathered in caramel with a layer of spiced crumbly crumbs. I thought, O how perfect, Evan will love it!

img_4041

And indeed not only Evan but I was in love. The earthy crimson sex appeal sprouting out of caramel coating the slices of soft apples were so divine. Then complimented with crumbs spiced with cinnamon and nutmeg and everything apple pie like without an overwhelming crust. It was light, chewy, gooey, crumbly, and spicy all in one.

I bought organic whipped cream in a bottle and sprayed Happy Bday on top before topping with candles. Evans blowing it blew the letters away but no one complained and slowly devoured the cake/pie/tart with sips of beer.

I’m pretty sure I ate the most. Watching caramel turn color was the most interesting process, basically a concoction of butter and sugar churned frequently and observing its bubbling goodness slowly darken to a deep brown. I think I might have overdone it a bit, I suggest cooking until a crayola brown rather than deep brown. Nonetheless it was delicious and I’ll be making it again, perhaps for FEAST.

Recipe here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

