Five Leaves

img_0790_2

I recently had dinner at Five Leaves, a sea ship interior designed restaurant in Greenpoint near McCarren Park once partnered by Heath Ledger. It’s been at the corner of Bedford/Berry between Manhattan and Lorimer for about a year now and I’ve been wanting to check it out but never had the opportunity. Well I am glad to have dined and anticipate returning for brunch and drinks.

I went on a Monday evening so it wasn’t crowded but still a full house pumping with hipsters. The waiter was super kind and tolerated my incessant indecisiveness.

img_0771_2

I finally decided on crispy skin salmon, detached from the soft melt in your mouth meat dressed in balsamic ponzu sauce with a side of fresh coriander cold coodle that dressed with parsley and daikon salad. It was a light but filling meal, refreshing with well proportioned tastes.

img_0770_2

My friend tried the organic lamb shepard’s pie with honey roasted root vegetables. I nearly burned my tongue trying a bite but well worth the hazardous risk.

img_0782_2

Dessert consisted of pear tart and tea infused ice cream which wasn’t most spectacular, the tart dough was too touch and heavy, I would’ve enjoyed it more flaky and soft. Otherwise the astringent pear matched well with the earthy ice cream.

The vibe in the restaurant is high end in my opinion but accomodating in service and portion. It was romantic with all the candlelight and funky knobbed bathroom handles and will visit again for brunch asap.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

