A Beautiful Present

A few days ago I received something totally unexpected and absolutely beautiful: 2 drawings by my best friend Cristina. She’s a schizophrenic artist (you say so yourself on your blog) who lived in NY for a bit and is now enjoying life in San Francisco. I love and fully support all that comes out of her imagination through her finger tips, from her belly button studies (you are yet to do mine) to small abstract play studies hand framed in boxy wooden squares, one of which is presented here:

img_1318_1

It reminds me a lot of the work of my boss but with more quietude and subtlety. They’re organic, abstract, expressive (not AbEx), and pure. Colors are rich and the imprefect lines give a boldness that is characteristic of the artist herself. There are more to the series you can find on her un-updated blog here. She also gave me a larger drawing:

img_1321_1

The oil pastel used here create a fluidity that matches the spontaneous combustion of artist creation. It looks like a flower bulb spitting out seeds but for all I know it’s just mere circles interplaying with color. Or maybe its a uterus. It reminds me of how she uses unconventional mediums like makeup and nail polish to draw whatever the hell she wants and it always comes out beautiful with a tinge of dark, much like the haphazard drawings of Louis Bourgeois.

img_1326_1

I like the way the bird sits on the bottom of the drawing, which I found on the floor at FEAST.

Thank you my lady.

2 Comments

Filed under Art

2 responses to “A Beautiful Present

  1. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i am satisfied to show that I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I so much indubitably will make certain to don’t put out of your mind this site and give it a glance on a constant.

  2. Terrific work! That is the kind of info that are meant to be shared across the net. Disgrace on the seek for now not positioning this publish upper! Come on over and visit my web site . Thank you =)

Leave a Reply

