Green Yogurt with Minted Honey Mango Sauce.

IMG_6671

The first recipe I saw in the most recent issue of Gourmet was this sauce and I’ve been dying to escape from my morning routine breakfast of vanilla yogurt with granola and fruits. Not that it’s bad, I’m just sick of it. So I got all too excited to try out this mango sauce that incorporates a quintessential summer fruit (albeit I feel bad for consuming non local food products) with a refreshing and cleansing herb like mint. I drink mint tea everyday and have been infusing herbs from my backyard and I absolutely love how the tea cleanses your palate and goes down your body with such a refreshing punch. This combo of mint and mango sweetened by honey and sugar (I used agave) is perfect for a hot summery day (albeit a shitty, non stop rainy day). The sauce came out mild and I’d be curious to try it again with actual sugar rather than agave as I’m not sure how it meshes with the honey. I’d put more mint as it wasn’t strong enough. I didn’t have enough mangos to leave some chunks on top which I’ll do next time for presentation purposes. Greek yogurt is a new fad for me and I prefer it over regular yogurt, the thickness is more gratifying and the tang more fulfilling of an experience than yogurt.

IMG_6657

Then here’s a picture of a cucumber from my backyard, I waited a  few days too long to pick it. It was delicious with some oil, whine wine vinegar, honey and mustard dressing.

Recipe: Minted Honey Mango Sauce

Makes about 2 cups

3 cups chopped peeled mangoes

6 Tbsp water

2 Tbsp mild honey

2 Tbsp sugar

1 Tbsp finely chopped mint

Accompaniment: greek yogurt or vanilla ice cream (which I’ll be doing for dessert after dinner!)

Puree 2 cups mango with water, honey, and sugar in a blender until smooth. Transfer to a serving bowl and stir in remaining cup mango and mint.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

