The BEST Chicken I’ve made thus far.

IMG_9259

The attempted detox diet isn’t going too smoothly at the moment, I indulged in burgers and fries, brownies and wine, tarts and chocolate throughout the weekend, I couldn’t help myself. I mean, who COULD help themselves when given the opportunity to enjoy the camaraderie instigated by a gathering of good food? It was only natural and I’m not one to resist my instinctive (albeit compulsive and fiendish) eating habits.

But it’s the start of the work week and I’m pseudo-back on track. I thought of making salad with plenty varied greens topped by grilled skinless chicken breasts. I had no intention of setting up the grill so decided to broil the free range organic chicken I bought for $7 at The Garden in Greenpoint. I’ve never broiled chicken before and I will make a grand pronouncement: this is THE BEST way to cook chicken breasts.

The turn offish and unappetizing fret one gets when toying with the idea of eating what is possibly dry and tasteless, this method is guaranteed juicy, flaky, soft, delicate and delicious beyond words. I was flabbergasted, absolutely astounded that it turned out this way. Pieces literally just peeled off and the broiling combined with spices and garlic created a crispy outside layer, packed with flavorful taste and juice. I am SOLD.

I tore chunks to put into my salad and haven’t eaten it yet, let’s see if it’s a good combo.

Set oven to broil

Spread them boneless wings on foil (I believe this is what kept the juices from disintegrating) atop a baking tray

Lather and sexily massage the top with olive oil, generously sprinkle salt and pepper, paprika (I’m inexplicably obsessed with paprika these days) and dried basil.

Stick in oven for 12 minutes, flip, and broil for 5 more minutes

Voila.

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “The BEST Chicken I’ve made thus far.

  1. flowersofthefield

    i love The Garden- if you’re talking about that place on manhattan ave, right by the Y. why are you so busy? make some time for dinner!

  2. Seems like you are a true expert. Did you study about the matter? hrhr

  3. Thanks for bothering to post this – I found it genuinely helpful. Are there any more blog posts like this on the web blog?

Leave a Reply

