Giant Scones and Blabberings

Die bangs. Die.

I’m a bit appalled at how fast time has decided to run past. The last post was a dinky poem I wrote in 5 minutes at work about digestion and that was already two and a half weeks ago. And, it’s Christmas Eve. What the fuck?? I am ill prepared for this holiday; no cookies, no cards, no presents, for ANYONE. The last few weeks and couple months have been slightly tumultuous between useless boy drama, a computer drowned in matzo soup depriving me of its presence for a WEEK, attempting to Betty Page my bangs only to come off irreparably lopsided and just plain nasty, hating the unbreakable compulsive eating habits that only lead to having repulsed thoughts about my own body, and just being plain wiped out from everything. EVERYTHING.

I’ve been bombarded with some pretty amazing opportunities this entire year meeting a cascade of world-changing, community-building individuals, and partaking in projects that have nourished and expanded the multi-facets of my being. It’s been exponentially gratifying to be able to bring the magical realms of art and food together to build a mini-utopia of life, whether in the form of an art exhibition, a food market, a dinner party, or as I’ve regrettably been neglecting, this blog. I started writing here last September or so and it’s been a whirlwind of activity ever since and it’s this blog that started it all, opened all those doors between food and writing and art and doing all I love to do for Greenpoint, and meeting some amazing people along the way.

But I’ve definitely gone a bit overboard and have wiped myself out. I attempted to “freelance” as a writer for a couple months and that failed miserably so much so that I had to take on a full time job, albeit an amazing one I can’t complain about, and now am running behind everything from writing about that pickle festival months back to an amazing show at Metro Pictures, from the jambalaya I cooked the other day to the holiday food market I put together last week.

I am beyond grateful to have the next 11 days completely, wholly to myself, no schlepping around like a homeless bag lady from Greenpoint to Chelsea with laptop, dog, lunch, and book in tow till the new year. I’ll be taking the next few days to revamp and revitalize, reassess and rejuvenate, reflect and refresh. Sorry, too many re’s there.

I plan to budget my expenses, be more mindful and conscious about what I consume, practice yoga again, spend a lot more time reading and writing at home, and rather than stretching myself out too thin to support myself, bring it all back in, minimalizing the outsourcing, harvesting my inner sanctity, sanity, sanitary. I want to pay more attention to my immediate surrounding, the wonders of the everyday, collecting, documenting and recording the unstupendous and uneventful, realizing it for its unsung beauty and peace giving harmony. That all sounds a bit hippie-dom but it’s inspired by Keri Smith’s How to Be an Explorer of the World and I’m determined to not be overwhelmed by my trying to consuming everything all at once, taking it rather one by one, day by day, moment by moment, experiencing it in full as it happens, writing about it, sharing my thoughts and what not as it happens, rather than piling up all these thoughts and emotions in hope to release later, only to leave it rising and pent up to inevitably explode into uselessness.

So that’s the rambling part. I’m taking the next 11 days to prepare fora  new beginning, a fresh new start. Hopefully I can share as many of these moments on this blog, and hopefully you’ll like me better for it.

Now for the scones.

These are giant scones. So giant the recipe is called GIANT apricot-walnut scones. I usually gear away from scones for their tendency to be dry and hard, crusty and tasteless. I usually go for croissants and usually get disappointed for their lack of moist chewy centers and airy flaky exteriors. I’m afraid my morning pastry conundrums will never be appeased. But, there are these scones that are apparently surprisingly super easy to make, shape and bake. I’m not quite sure why I decided to try this recipe, it was a compulsive decision. And I have no regrets about it. The end result is a super soft and moist baked delight with apricots and raisins providing a sweet chew and walnuts a savory crunch. Toast with butter and some Anarchy in a Jar and you are SO good to go. Did I mention hot easy and minimal in process and ingredients it is?? I’m sold.

GIANT Apricot-Walnut Scones

Makes 6

2 cups all purpose-flour

1/3 cup sugar

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup chopped dried apricots

1/2 cup raisins

1 1/3 cups heaving whipping cream

Powdered sugar

– Preheat oven to 400F. Whisk first 3 ingredients in a large bowl. Stir in walnuts, apricots, and raisins. Add cream; stir with fork just to blend. Transfer dough to work surface sprinkled with powdered sugar. Knead dough until smooth, about 10 turns. Form dough into 1 inch thick round. Cut into 6 wedges. Sift powdered sugar over. Transfer to baking sheet.

– Bake scones until golden brown and toothpick inserted into center comes out clean, about 18 minutes. Serve warm or at room temp.

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “Giant Scones and Blabberings

  1. flowersofthefield

    I’m making those sconesss right now but the dough was too wet and sticky? is it supposed to be like that? what did I do wrong?

  2. Joann

    it’s fine that it’s wet and sticky. don’t over knead it. Just plop on sheet, cut to wedges and bake to 18 minutes. Check with toothpick down center and if it comes out wet bake for 1-2 more minutes. i made another batch today at 18 min and it could’ve been baked couple minutes longer. so glad you’re actually doing it, let me know if it’s success!!

  3. Chloe Rusden

    Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share. Thanks!Pinellas Park Roofing, 9753 66th St., #206, Pinellas Park, FL 33782 – (727) 755-0026

Leave a Reply

