Reader: Jan 27, 2010

– Like the looks of this house. Like the looks of this work/craft space.

Yoga for foodies. “Ssssmell the squassshhhh waaaafting through the air.” Another culture consumed. Pity. omg: “Yoga, a noun, is also used as an adjective by many American yogis, as in “That’s so yoga.”

Village Voice’s 18 Gotham Best Blogs includes Art Fag City and New York Shitty.

– This is the best food blog ever. A post on donut plant and farting on despicable women on the subway. Also, fish and squatting on public toilets. I can learn from this dude.

Bourdain “calling Waters a “visionary” who “says some stupid shit sometimes.”

Unhappy Hipsters are images taken from Dwell magazine with some amazing captions added.

– Behold, the slant ruled notebook.

Susan Sarandon spanks pigs onstage at of montreal concert.

How art can be used to contextualize and understand environmental concerns. Example: Dave Olsen studies the pollution that is Newtown Creek under an alter ego, the vulture. I will contact him in hopes to meet and speak one day.

Ecosexual cake contest. (via c-monster)

When a journalist asks you how much you make blogging : “None of your fucking business” isn’t polite, so I suggest joking evasion such as “I’m making in the low billions, thanks for asking.”


Sex in art.

Astoria’s scum river bridge.

The Onion on Haiti. Also, intro to Haitian music.

–  Whitney Biennial?

3 Comments

Filed under Reader

3 responses to “Reader: Jan 27, 2010

  1. I think it’s too early to tell. As far as the baseball side of it goes, I think it’s a no braienr to sit back on this free agent class this year. The present team did not respond to Lou Pinella last year. So I believe this year will have a bit of a wait and see look to it. Wait and see how Quade does with this team, The talent is not horrific, it just didn’t perform at all. Will it perform for him. I doubt to a playoff level, but more important how do individuals look. I think Quade is also a stop gap for when this team gets some freedom in the payroll area. I think ownership wants to evaluate the talent that is presently there and make minor moves in the FA pool, while pursuing trades that make sense. I remember Ricketts saying he didn’t want to decimate the farm system, which is wise. Also, next year a ton of money comes off the books and the team could go nuts in Free Agency then as well. If I were owner/GM that is exactly what I would do, play it safe this year, go after a second tier 1b, a mid rotation starter and one average bullpen guy. I wouldn’t add a ton of pieces. Then I would see how this team responds to Quade. If it’s in the hunt (I can’t believe I’m even saying that, except for the example of the Padres this past year), then maybe make some moves. If not, at least I’ve evaluated the young talent, like Castro, Colvin, Lee (maybe) and know what we need to pursue when Fuk, Aram, Silva, and others come off the books. Okay sorry that was long-winded. Just my two cents.

  2. Bro . Pinnex Just got home from the trip and wanted to tell you thank you again for the oppttuuniry to be a part of the missions trip. My wife and I had our hearts touched for this difficult and unique mission field. We will defin itley be praying for you luke 18:1Love the Allens

Leave a Reply

