Reader: Feb 22, 2010

The best oatmeal in NY. I probably make the best oatmeal in the world and would avoid ordering it in restaurants. But some of these sound enticing and would definitely like to check out Locanda Verde.

Aboriginal leaders are offended by an Olympics ice dance that involved pulling hair and tongues sticking out.

– I want to buy tickets to Village Voice’s third annual tasting event. 50 restaurants under one roof sounds amazing but $45 on any one thing is not in my budget at the moment. boohoo.

– I also wish I could go to The Future of Food with Y+30 event.

BK Farmyards is starting a Youth Farm and they need to raiser about $3,000 more by this Friday to make this happen. Show your support!

Jamie Oliver on TED Talks. It’s a bit funny how theatrical and zealous he is throughout the talk but I think it’s absolutely amazing what him and many others like BK Farmyards are doing in bringing good food to a family and educational level for the youth.

– Dori Greenspan is my hero and I’m sorry I missed her pop up cookie shop.

Dear Megan shares her beekeeping story. “I was given an opportunity to focus on the betterment of my life in a small but essential way. My bees have been a lesson in patience and presence. It’s a hobby that requires you to slow down and simply look. Fine observation skills are required to assess what it is that the colony needs or doesn’t need. It is my responsibility to care for them to the fullest of my ability before all else, before taking a prize of honey from their home. In my mind, it’s the least I could do for them, the miraculous creatures who unknowingly save me from myself.”

– On the future of food writing. I guess I never thought food writing as to be that grim. It’s flourishing with thousands of food blogs all over the world. 80% is redundant and boring but there are some amazing writers out there that more or less do it as a hobby and I like it that way.

– Here’s a more indepth article about food writing’s future: “the encouraging fact remains that our gluttonous society is hungrier than ever for food news, recipes, information, inspiration, legislation… This is a thrilling time to read and write about food—and if you are interested in either activity, you’ve got plenty of company. What emerged from the panel for me is the sense that market forces will stabilize the field of food writing…eventually. Writers who have the backing—be that a trust fund, an employer, a wildly successful ad-supported blog or even just a day job and a lot of drive—will continue to create well-written, well-researched and well-tested or fact-checked food content, even without the benefit of extensive editorial and art departments. And the humbling gods of internet traffic will give and take away accordingly.”

Jerry Saltz and facebook: “One of Mr. Saltz’s primary stated goals for the page—which he views as an experiment—is a desire to demystify the art critic in the eyes of readers and artists. To that end, he has gotten rather personal with his Facebook friends, telling stories about family tragedies, career bumps and his diet. A juice fast he took up back in January so alarmed some of his readers that he gave it up at their urging. “Look; you all scared me SO much about me being on what I thought was a good Juice Fast that I just ate a banana,” he wrote. “Hmmmmmm. Good.”

10 menu trends for 2010. Doesn’t sound to too convincing to me. I hate fried foods and sentimental sweets sounds offputting.

On Cathy’s new book The Art of Eating In. I will not take the challenge as it’s a week of birthday dinners and events, but maybe another time. Meanwhile I love her blog and cannot wait to get my hands on her book.

Social media and art includes dear Powhida and Dalton’s #class.

Food and cycling.

Liza interviewed I do have a bag of frozen tater tots in my freezer. Oh, and I am disgustingly addicted to Cheetos. It’s to my great disadvantage that they still produce those magical little cheese fingers.” haha

Response to an article degrading the local food movement. ” We are not a bunch of yuppie foodies stuffing our craws with foie gras, as he and others might have their readers believe. The system we envision, as I said, is one that is: 1. Good – meaning that the food tastes good and is nutritious 2. Clean – meaning that producing the food has only beneficial and not negative effects on the environment in which it is produced, and that there is nothing in the food that isn’t food (and if it wasn’t food 100 years ago, it is not food now) 3. Fair – meaning that the people who produce the food should be justly compensated for their work.”

Some good news in food and sustainability.

– I was actually slightly offended when Ben relayed this story to me in person. I honestly don’t think there is any correlation between being a foodie and a “small asian girl”. Yes asian food more often than not involves sharing, emphasizing family and togetherness, but it’s not what drives a hoard of asian girls to be obssessed about food. Most of the folks I know in the food realm are not asian whatsoever. I never grew up with cooking at home. My personal story about how I got involved with food has no consequence whatsoever with my being asian. So to this I shall respond: irrelevant.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reader

Leave a Reply

