Learn to cook Korean food with Maangchi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AoPeVS03A3A

I FINALLY found what I’ve been looking for: authentic Korean cooking as made by a Korean, for a Korean. Mind you, I’m a delinquent when it comes to Korean food, I never grew up in a kitchen brimming with activity. Mother and father never cooked. Home was never a home. I hated home. But the food I did get to eat from church, restaurants, friend’s lovely and envious homes, were delicious. In the last year and half that I’ve discovered food and its many life saving abilities I have not yet ventured out to cooking Korean. It’s daunting and I wasn’t able to find a cookbook I could trust that would teach me some authentic recipes.
WELL, THAT IS NO LONGER.

Ladies and gentleman, meet Maangchi. She wears wigs, she has an accent, she’s got the curves and feist of a a sexy madam. She cooks the shit out of Korean food and teaches you step by step in well guided videos, followed by recipes on her website. And talk about a user friendly, interactive, international, community building website. There are fans that can post dishes using her recipes. She blogs and posts about her fans. She comments and responds to every and all inquiries. She travels all over the fucking world and gets down with the homies.

THIS IS MY SISTER FROM ANOTHER MOTHER. OR, THIS IS MY MOTHER FROM ANOTHER SISTER. whatever.

I cannot fucking WAIT WAIT WAIT to move into my new apartment and cook the shit out of Korean food with the loving and helping hands of Maangchi. She’s teaching a class in Brooklyn Kitchen in April but it’s $75 (my lament about Brooklyn Kitchen is that all their classes are too damn expensive) so I won’t be going. BUT, I am PRAYING that she reads this and will let me meet her and interview her and cook with her. That would be SURREAL.

If you want to explore Korean cooking with me a la Maangchi, hit me up and we’ll experiment together. Sexy sexy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

