Inoteca

I’ve been eating out quite often lately which is a big nono considering I don’t have the cash to do so. I apparently enjoy spending money I don’t have. Luckily, my homeslice Mai works at Inoteca, a wonderful classical Italian wine bar and restaurant located in the Lower East Side and Gramercy and I stop by every so often to munch from a delicious selection of traditional dishes. I haven’t taken photos of their signature bruschettes but I highly highly recommend you try the fig mascarpone, found at their Gramercy space. It is unreal in its sweetness, smoothness, richness and goodness. Their polenta with mushrooms and onions are prime comfort food, warm and gratifyingly mushy, flavorful and filling.

Last night Mai and I strolled from Gramercy’s Inoteca to the one on Rivington and prepared ourselves for a delectable meal. I started off with three bruschettes; the fagiolo del giorno, ricotta fresca & pomodoro, and caponata di verdure. My main meal was a crispy and overtly spiced pollo al mattone with asparagus, mushrooms and ramps. The skin was charred ever so crunchily, the meat thin and tender. The vegetables were scarcely portioned but deliciously seasoned with what seemed like a soy sauce and red pepper base. I could be totally off there, I am not one to guess tastes. Nonetheless I loved the texture combo and the salty savory richness of the dish. Mai started off with the beets and orange salad and had a panini sandwich that was a bit too dry for my tastes.

The best part of the meal though is always dessert, in my humble opinion. The sous chef greeted my dear homeslice and surprised us with a most mouthwatering dessert: panna cotta with poached strawberries in some sort of wine sauce. It was SO GOOD. I absolutely love fruity desserts, especially if its combined with some sort of chocolately or thick creamy base like ice cream or such. However I am not a big fan of cheesecake, that shit makes me nauseous. Panna cotta is an eggless pudding, here sprinkled with a high vanilla dosage, making it super indulgent in and on itself. The poached strawberries maintained their seedy crunch whilst giving off the most sensual slimy chew, and taking a bite with both strawberry and pudding lathered in the sauce was pure unadulterated sex. I will most definitely be coming back for more. Over and over and over.

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Inoteca

  1. hk

    mouth watering… I want the dessert NOW…

Leave a Reply

