Kimchi Rosemary Chicken, Honey Glazed Potatoes, and Mustardy Carrots

It’s been about 2 months since I’ve started a new job which conveniently happens to be around the corner from my house. Before then I was commuting an hour to Chelsea and I hated it with all my guts, especially considering how much I hate the claustrophobic clusterfuck that is the subway. I now save two hours of my day (not to mention the added stress and anxiety) and have been taking full advantage of the extra time. This of course means I just spend a whole lot more time wondering what I should do with all my time, considering there’s just so damn much to do (classic case of New York neuroticism).

I’ve slowly been starting to cook regularly again after months of avoiding the kitchen and one of the best meals so far was made last night, on the whim no less. Angel and I share many a meals together and I’ve stuck to simple recipe-less dishes with generic ingredients like chicken, roasted veggies and pasta and haven’t been inspired enough to browse through food blogs and cookbooks to find meals to cook. Tonight was yet another one of those nights and I just happened to make an exceptional delicious meal.

May I present to you KIMCHI ROSEMARY CHICKEN. It’s dazzling perfection, a nice fusing of tastes with spicy and sweet mixed in with savory wholesomeness of sesame oil on slices of chicken tenders. The kimchi provided a great crunchy texture to the soft delicate chew and was the perfect amount of hotness to compliment with the dab of sweetness from sugar and sesame oil. I love adding sesame seeds when I can as it totally fulfills my oral fixation with their tiny yet generous popping-in-your-mouth experience.

I bought these giant reddish purple potatoes thinking they were sweet potatoes and was quite disappointed after peeling to find its white body. I am in love with sweet potatoes and have been obsessed with them lately but this would just have to do. I roasted it with some honey (I love roasting with honey), thyme, garlic, and salt & pepper. Simple as that. It came out to be a perfectly glazed toasted crunchy bite with soft and moist innards.

The sauce I mixed in with steamed carrots comes from a Bittman article where he lists 101 recipes to make your Thanksgiving cooking experience easier. The problem with this is portion. In making this mustard sauce I just played around with what I wanted to bring out more, mustard flavor, or a citrus-y cider effect. I went with the mustardy and lavished it with a bed of chopped scallion. It was soft and tangy and perked up your tastebuds a bit.

What a great meal.

Recipes

Kimchi Rosemary Chicken

6 pieces chicken tenders

1 cup chopped kimchi (napa cabbage variety)

olive oil

1/8 cup sesame oil

2 tbsp sesame seeds

3 tbsp soy sauce

1 minced garlic clove

3 rosemary sprigs

I used my cast iron skillet, warmed up some olive oil, lay down the chicken and sprinkled all the remaining ingredients, covered it up and let it simmer under medium heat for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. That’s it.

 

Steamed Carrots with Mustard Sauce

1 bunch of carrots

1/2 cup olive oil

3 tbsp dijon mustard

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 scallion stem finely chopped

Peel and slice whichever way you’d like. Steam until soft, let it cool on the side. Mix together remaining ingredients to make sauce and lather it with the carrots.

 

Honey Glazed Roasted Potatoes with Thyme and Garlic

3 giant purple potatoes, peeled and chopped into squares

2 tbsp honey

3 springs fresh thyme

olive oil

3 cloves garlic

salt & pepper

Lay out all ingredients in a baking pan and stick in an over at 450 degrees for 40-45 minutes til edges are nicely toasted.

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Kimchi Rosemary Chicken, Honey Glazed Potatoes, and Mustardy Carrots

  1. Chavo

    Great job Joann !!! this was ONE delicious meal thank you..

Leave a Reply

