Breakfast Quinoa with Blackberries, Pecans, and Bananas

A week and a half has passed since the new year and I’ve already fallen off track from that new year resolution high. The master cleanse was done after 2 days and the smoking has been diligently puffing along. By Sunday night I felt I’ve lost that sense of renew and refresh and was frustratingly lost again. I am however proud of staying relatively physical this last week. Between yoga classes, dance classes, and walking everywhere I was feeling pretty good. And despite having been eating I’ve been semi-successfully portioning my plates so I don’t overeat the way I have been.

Well, it’s a new week, a new day, another opportunity, another chance to eat and do as you like, the way you intended. In the end approaching a new year provides a false sense of renewal and more often than not just ends in disappointment. What I’ll have to remind myself is that everyday I can do something to make me feel the slightest bit good, happy, productive. Today that something will be yoga. Today that will be cooking up a healthy meal.

Speaking of healthy meal, I’ve been inspired by the two week cleanse project that Bon Appetit has been marketing and I’ve saved some recipes for my benefit. One is a breakfast quinoa recipe from 101 cookbooks. Red quinoa was replaced by plain quinoa and bananas were added to enhance on the nutrition and sweetness. It’s actually pretty bland without the bananas. I love the subtle crunch of quinoa, and compliment that with a similar crunch from blackberries and you got yourself a bowl of textured goodness. It looks and tastes healthy which is probably why I added a bit more agave then asked and added the bananas. I probably won’t be making it for awhile but if anything it made me curious about more hearty breakfasts that go beyond bacon egg and cheese on a roll.

 

Breakfast Quinoa with Blackberries, Pecans, and Bananas

1 cup organic lowfat milk

1 cup water

1 cup organic quinoa

2 cups fresh blackberries

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/3 cup chopped toasted pecans

6 tsp agave nectar

1 banana, sliced

 

Combine milk, water, quinoa in medium saucepan. Bring to boil over high heat. Reduce to medium-low, cover and simmer for 15 minutes or until liquid is mostly absorbed (this was 25 min for me). Turn off heat, stir blackberries, pecans, cinnamon. Top with agave and banana.

I bet this would be good with walnuts, nutmeg, and cardamom too!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

