Tackling Marketing

Ever since the new year rolled around I’ve become more and more interested in the role of marketing, social media, and the digital world. I’m not quite sure where this interest comes from but it’s growing deeper and I’m not quite sure what to do with it. For example last night I ran into a blog whos bio stated “digital strategist by day, blogger by night.” I wondered, what the hell is a digital strategist? So I shared my question with twitter and Amy informatively responded, “someone who uses digital media with set plans & goals to increase # of users, web traffic, raise brand awareness, build name.” So I wondered how is this different from someone heading the marketing department for a company, and is it really just a “more respectable term than ‘social media guru’?”

Veken is also a digital strategist and he and Veronica sent over the Wikipedia link which defines a digital strategy “is the process of specifying an organization’s vision, goals, opportunities and initiatives in order to maximize the business benefits digital investments and efforts provide to the organization. These can range from an enterprise focus, which considers the broader opportunities and risks that digital potentially creates (e.g., changes in the publishing industry) and often includes customer intelligence, collaboration, new product/market exploration, sales and service optimization, enterprise technology architectures and processes, innovation and governance; to more marketing and customer-focused efforts such as web sites, mobile, eCommerce, social, site and search engine optimization, and advertising.”

So how long has digital strategy been around? Can I get a degree in it? I’ve been thinking more and more about the possibility of going back to school for marketing, digital media, and all those terms that in the end mean the same thing. What I can’t get over is WHY this vested interest? Where is this coming from? Is this a natural progression from having been involved in so many community building events and working with people, transforming mass amounts of people as data in which to create maps and surveys to determine what is popular and desired? I experienced this at I guess I had a small stint with marketing and all this stuff when running Greenpoint Food Market. I had to figure out how I could get all these people in here, make them want to trek all the way out to bumfuck Greenpoint and share/participate/contribute to a growing community of artisanal food makers and budding small business entrepreneurs. That whole experience allowed me to gauge what the audience wanted, what the producers needed, and how to accommodate for both. So that was I guess my entryway into marketing, digital media, social media, digital strategy. Right?

I don’t fucking know. All I do know is, I want to be more educated by it. I want more field experience relating to it. I see all these available positions that sound too official for me to apply, I am unqualified. So how do I get to that point? Teach me!

I’m buying some books to start the self-education process. I’ve also been looking into building my writing skills and style and potentially also going back to school for nonfiction writing or journalism. So…I just splurged and bought these books. Any other books I should be reading?

On Writing Well

The Making of a Writer

The Liberal Imagination

Practically Radical: Not-So-Crazy Ways to Transform Your Company, Shake Up Your Industry, and Challenge Yourself

Digital Strategies for Powerful Corporate Communications

The Invisible Dragon

The Elements of Style

The Idea Writers: Copywriting in a New Media and Marketing Era (Advertising Age)

The Artist’s Way

The Art of Nonfiction: A Guide for Writers and Readers

The Journals of Andre Gide

3 Comments

Filed under Media

3 responses to “Tackling Marketing

  1. You know a ton more than you think J – more than almost anyone who calls themself a “digital strategist.” You already get people moving and inspire them to do things like trying to sell their food ideas and open their homes to show art. You don’t need a college degree in this, just keep doing what your doing and learning from each experience.

  2. To me it would be nice to see that veil of immunity Mr. Bush put aronud him removed and let the Democrats in Congress go after him like a pit bull and let him spend some time in a nice Federal Pen without the Country Club amenities. Perhaps one that has real criminals for him to poll.

Leave a Reply

