Reader: Sunday Times: July 31, 2011

Some notable reads from today’s times:

– No earthquake, tsunami or nuclear crisis will keep tourists away from relentlessly cheap airfares and dodging in Japan right now. Take advantage you wanderlusting exploiters!

In this novel, a girl sends a boy a sexy video which is then uploaded and inevitably gone vital, resulting in the humiliation and destruction of a family.

– Calling all lazy hipster couch bums: what more to get you excited than jogging in your underwear?

Jamaica Bay is the largest swath of nature in this city and it reminds me how much of this city I have yet to explore.

– I hate when yoga is turned into a heartless, mindless, sporty boot camp for the privileged.

Rachel Sterne is the “community manager” for the city and with 21,000 followers I envy her success and ambition to make the city’s function relevant and accessible to a digitally engaged public.

– I miss using my paper calendar but don’t regret having converted to ical considering how much I’ve perfected my synchronized schedule.

Superfunding the Gowanus Canal has kept rich people and developers away and brought on scrabby artists and other creatives.

– I wish my parents were saavy enough to make me read 10 classics in exchange for a spiffy new bike.

– Is co-working right for you?

South Koreans are brutal, sadistic, misogynistic and blinded by pecking orders and ageist hierarchy. “No pain no gain” is taken to a whole other level in required military service and its affects on Korean culture makes me ashamed sometimes of my cultural background.

Holland Cotter advises Metropolitan Museum of Art to take this opportunity housing their permanent collection at the Whitney (as the latter moves downtown) by focusing what they’re known for: history laden, multicultural works of art. Leave the postmodern, socially engaged, performative, conceptual mish mash of contemporary art to every other gallery and museum in this city.

2 Comments

Filed under Reader

2 responses to “Reader: Sunday Times: July 31, 2011

  1. I wish to get across my respect for your generosity for persons that really want help with in this content. Your very own commitment to passing the solution all over appears to be remarkably valuable and has surely empowered employees just like me to attain their goals. Your personal insightful guide signifies this much a person like me and far more to my fellow workers. Best wishes; from everyone of us.

  2. I would like to convey my gratitude for your kindness in support of those individuals that have the need for help on in this niche. Your real dedication to getting the solution all-around had become remarkably valuable and has regularly enabled girls just like me to realize their desired goals. Your new warm and friendly guide indicates a whole lot a person like me and much more to my office colleagues. Best wishes; from each one of us.

Leave a Reply

