To Do and Things

I’m pretty backed up sharing stories on this blog. I went gallery hopping thru Chelsea yesterday and saw some pretty sweet shows and I’m determined to write about each one. The overnight camping story at Queens County Farm must be told as well as the pickle festival, New Amsterdam market, dinner at Walter Foods, vacation at Rosendale, a lecture by rooftop farmer Annie Novak, a dinner party performance for nonsense, a Fever Ray concert, and experiments in the kitchen with Julia Child. Don’t fret, it’s coming. Soon. At some point.

Here are some things needing to be checked out:

!TONIGHT!

FINAL_COVER

The lovely ladies behind Sunday Night Dinner have a few spots left for Gourmet Magazine inspired dinner tonight at 6:30. It’s $35 plus a bottle of wine. Tamara and Zora are responsible for creating the recent kickass cookbook Forking Fantastic! which there was a video about and you can watch me lick my fingers as a guest. A copy will be raffled off at the food market this Saturday as well. Email thesundaynightdinner@gmail.com to rsvp for tonight’s delicious dinner.

!THURSDAY!

HortonLiu000346

– My dear Sean of Horton & Liu opens tomorrow with riveting photographs by Melanie Schiff.

– It’s otherwise a quite evening, I might make dinner for one: fish fillet in white wine sauce, rainbow veggie gratin, and thin chocolate covered mint cookies. Treat myself good for once.

!FRIDAY!

City_of_DreamsCity of Dreams Tour Map

– My dear Jeff of FEAST is participating in a traveling performance City of Dreams. Starting at Noon on Broadway & Spring, hop on a glitterized tour bus packed with marching bands and costumed performers for an hour or two of dreamy magic. I’ll be there reporting, taking notes, screaming with inspiration of a possible utopia billowing through the city.

Sunset Rubdown plays at Manhattan Center Grand Ballroom.

– X-initiative hosts a lecture “Don’t Blame it on New York!” with psychoanalyst Pierre-Gilles Gueguen to discuss a Lacanian perspective on the art object and art market in today’s civilization. Interesting…

– My dear Ethan of Inoculist plays at Piano’s.

!SATURDAY!

IMG_8417

GREENPOINT FOOD MARKET! There was a great turn out last week, which brought back a reverberating energy, I’m going to sneak some more postcards door to door this week and I hope and pray all of you will join me for some baked goods, soup, empanadas, savory pies, pickles, hummus, chocolate and more!

lg_apple

Enid’s in Greenpoint hosts  their 7th annual apple pie bake off. I have a wedding right after the market so can’t indulge in sampling what must be oodles of deliciousness.

round-trip

– My dear Gabriela of Eyelevel BQE opens a solo show by Julien Gardair with spatial installations, collages, and paintings. A visual stimulator to fill you up after you’ve sampled goods at the market.

!SUNDAY!

appleday_4_homepage– It’s Apples on Orchard Day!, an outdoor festival with live music and more paying tribute the lower east side’s history with the forbidden fruit.

– My dear Emily is having an epic wburg stoop sale outside her soon to be old apartment starting at 11am. Look for a vintage leather couch, table, shelves, a cat, sewing machine, and bike parts! 604 Metropolitan Ave btw Lorimer and Leonard.

3992467799_caaa5d774a

The Food Obstructions cook-off series starts at The Gutter where contestants are faced with 5 obstructions including “include an ingredient that is the color purple” and winners receive a cash pot.

In other news, I’ve recently hit some tv fame. Not really. But there are 3 videos where you can hear and watch me stutter, ramble, lick my fingers, nervously stare wide eyed at the reporter, and look 10lbs heavier than I already am:

Daily Candy did a feature in one of Tamara and Zora’s dinner parties where I am a guest. Filming this was so much fun, theyleft out a few hysterical parts like when I fall asleep of Tamara’s shoulder but here’s the awesome interview nonetheless.

– Rose of Copenhagen Voice interviewed me for the Greenpoint Food Market, I honestly didn’t know what was coming out of my mouth half the time.

Brooklyn Beat did a really awesome feature on the market. It makes us look really sweet.

1 Comment

Filed under Reader

One response to “To Do and Things

  1. Love your blog! There is always something new going on in NY! Just joined your GGG group– cant wait for the next event!

Leave a comment