Reader August 26, 2009

– NYT Restaurant Critic Frank Bruni’s farewell tips on good eateries.

– Jerry Saltz’ fall preview. None in Brooklyn, or LES, mostly Chelsea. Boo.

– Nicole Caruth’s ingenious two part post on Gastro-Vision: Art, Food, and Urban Farming.

mews_07

Jane Benson

Song Dong at MoMA thru Sept 7th. Not to be missed.

– Creepy breastfeeding doll.

temple_gallery

– I am in LOVE with these paintings by Yellena James.

– Goddamit, I missed National Topless Day.

– Brent in Greenpoint.

Jorge Macchi

16.alchemistgarden

– I am also in LOVE with these paintings by Paul Wackers.

– Whole Foods CEO John Mackey an extremist nut, boycott ensues.

– I have mixed feelings about turnkey exhibitions. It’s a bit worrisome to have corporate curators take over a hosting museum but it is helpful (albeit a bit opportunist) to have smaller community museums to benefit with artists they wouldn’t have access to otherwise. Hmmmm…

– All about love.

132404462_1f8cd5e984_o

– Speaking of love, I again, LOVE these street installations by Mark Jenkins.

– Tracy Morgan IS totally awesome.

Hysterical.

Braids.

– Great awesome video by Skeeter NYC on BK Farmyards. CHECK IT.

– I read this about competitive food shows and Julia Childs by Michael Pollan a few weeks back and I was very relieved to be deprived of cable. And I want to watch Julie & Julia asap.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reader

Leave a comment